History of the Shippensburg Area Senior High School, located at 201 Eberly Drive, Shippensburg, PA

The start of the school year 1971-72 began a new adventure for the Shippensburg Senior High School. The new high school, which housed grades 10-12 was built at 201 Eberly Drive at a cost of $4,761,478. Prior to this, the High School was located at 101 Park Place the site of the current Shippensburg Middle School.

Dedication of the new school took place on October 17, 1971. The administrative staff consisted of: Dr. Frank L. Coffee, Superintendent, Dr. Harry Jacobs, Curriculum Director, Mr. George Bressler, Building Principal and Mr. Robert Hartz, Assistant Principal.

Since that time, the High School has had three building principals and two Acting Interim Principals.

1972-1989 Mr. Samuel Norris
1989-2007 Dr. Frederick Shilling
2002-2003 Ms. Kristin Carroll, Acting Principal for Dr. Shilling
August 2007-February 2008 Mr. Bruce Levy, Acting Principal for Dr. Shilling
2008-Present Mr. Bruce Levy


During Mr. Norris’s tenure, the following served as Assistant Principal’s:

1972-1978 Mr. Robert Hartz
1978-1980 Mr. Leroy Sites
1980-1983 Mr. William Padamonsky
1983-1989 Mr. Rodney Young
1989 Mr. Denton Spedden


Mr. Norris retired the summer of 1989 and Dr. H. Frederick Shilling became the Building Principal. His tenure was from 1989 until his death in 2007. During this time, in 1999, there was a building expansion and the high school then consisted of grades 9-12. A second Vice Principal was added during the 2000-2001 school year.

Assistant Principals serving under Dr. H. Frederick Shilling were:

1989-1991 Mr. Denton Spedden
1991-1992 Mr. Bruce Levy ( Acting Assistant)
1992-1994 Mr. Denton Spedden
1994-1999 Mrs. Bonnie Cornelius
1999-2001 Mr. Kerry Helm
2000-2002 Mr. Richard Reinsmith- who also served as Athletic Director
2001-2005 Ms. Kristin Carroll-replacing Mr. Kerry Helm, served as acting Principal for Dr. H. Frederick Shilling


2002 Mr. Bruce Levy, Acting Assistant Principal for Ms. Carroll
2002-2003 Mr. Paul Tornow- replacing Mr. Richard Reinsmith, also Athletic Director
2003 Mr. Bruce Levy, Acting Assistant Principal for Paul Tornow
2004-2007 Mr. Bruce Levy
2005-2007 Mr. Greg Miller, replacing Ms. Kristin Carroll


In August of 2007, Mr. Bruce Levy became Acting Principal while Dr. Shilling was on leave and Mr. Andrew Norton joined the team as Acting Assistant Principal in Mr. Levy’s place. Upon the death of Dr. Shilling, Mr. Levy became Principal in 2008 and Mr. Norton became the Assistant Principal. 2009 brought about another expansion to the high school with an addition of a wing to the building.

The current and longest running team of Administrators in the history of the High School are:

2008-Current Mr. Bruce Levy, Principal
2005-Current Mr. Greg Miller, Associate Principal
2007-Current Mr. Andrew Norton, Assistant Principal